Aaron Rodgers Fails to Win ESPY for Best NFL Player — Again

For the second year in a row, former Cal quarterback Aaron Rodger was named the NFL MVP. For the second year in a row, he did not win the ESPY for Best NFL Player. The winner, announced Wednesday, was Los Angeles Rams wide receiver Cooper Kupp, who was the Most Valuable Player in the Super Bowl won by the Rams.

Rodgers and Kupp were among the four nominees for the NFLaward, along with Steelers linebacker T.J. Watt and Colts running back Jonathan Taylor.

The ESPYs are awarded based on online voting from fans, with some sportswriters, broadcasters, sports executives, and ESPN personalities also getting votes. Kupp held a substantial lead early in the voting, and he reportedly won the ESPY by a significant margin.